FIFA World Footballer: Bavaria

Robert Lewandowski from Bayern Munich reached the football Olympus for the second time in a row.

The 33-year-old Polish national player was elected World Football of the Year on Monday as in 2020.

Lewandowski prevailed in the Gala The Best FIFA Football Awards against record winner Lionel Messi of Paris St. German and Liverpool’s Egyptian exceptional player Mohamed Salah. In the awarding of the traditional balloon d’Or in November, Messi had landed before Lewandowski.

In the past season with 41 goals, the Munich scorer was the eternal Bundesliga season record of the legendary Bomber Herd Müller from the season 1971/72. Also in the calendar year 2021 he was better with a total of 43 hits by a hit than Müller 1972.

Lewandowski had been the first professional from the Bundesliga last year, which was given the world footballer honor. The only German winner was in 1991 at the premiere Other Matthews (Inter Milan). In 2020, Lewandowski had triumphed before Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Voting in the choice of the World Association FIFA are the coaches of all national teams whose captains each is a journalist from any country and fans.

Barça Patellas elected world footballer

Alexia Patellas won the award for women. The 27-year-old Spaniard of Champions League winner FC Barcelona was awarded on Monday as part of the Gala The Best FIFA Football Awards. Patellas sat down against their teammate Jennifer Hermosa and the Australian Sam Kerr (FC Chelsea).

Articles and videos about the topic
Nagelsmann: Lewandowski deserves Welflußballer victory
World Hats: New is empty! Surprising winner
The Bundesliga Fridays and Sundays exclusively live on DAZN — Register now!


In the previous year, the English national player Lucy Bronze cleared the trophy. Last German World Footballer was Nadine Keller in 2014.